About Us Practice Community Resources Members

The Community of Mindful Living

Plum Village

walking meditation at Plum VillageThe Unified Buddhist Church established Sweet Potatoes Community in 1975, Plum Village in 1982, the Dharma Cloud Temple and the Dharma Nectar Temple in 1988, and the Adornment of Loving Kindness Temple in 1995. The Foot of the Hill Temple was established in 2003. Thich Nhat Hanh’s sangha (community of practice) in France is usually referred to as the Plum Village Sangha. During the course of the year, Plum Village welcomes thousands of retreatants from all over the world. Due to its rapid expansion in recent years, the community now comprises eight hamlets: Upper Hamlet, Foot of the Hill Hamlet, Middle Hamlet, West Hamlet and Lower Hamlet, New Hamlet, Gatehouse New Hamlet and Hillside New Hamlet.

A sangha of about 150 monks, nuns and resident lay-practitioners live permanently in Plum Village.


Blue Cliff Monastery

blue cliff monasteryBlue Cliff Monastery set in the lush green Hudson Valley of New York was established in May 2007 and is an extension of Plum Village meditation center in France, founded by the Venerable teacher Thich Nhat Hanh. Like our root monastery Plum village and sister monastery Deer Park (in Escondido California), Blue Cliff welcomes anyone who wishes to learn and cultivate the art and practices of engaged Buddhism through mindful living. Blue Cliff’s 80 acres of woodland and open space, offers a peaceful sanctuary.

Deer Park Monastery

Deer Park MonasteryThis 400-acre sanctuary in Escondido, CA, resting peacefully in a hidden bowl of mountains was established in July 2000 by the monastics and practitioners of the Plum Village tradition. The community provides a safe, secluded, peaceful place to cultivate inner solidity and clarity, in the midst of nature and all its wonders.

At Deer Park, the residential monastic community and lay sangha practice together under the guidance of our teacher, Thich Nhat Hanh (Thay), in the tradition of engaged Buddhism and mindfulness practice in everyday life. There are two hamlets: Solidity Hamlet (for monks and laymen) and Clarity Hamlet (for nuns and laywomen). Presently Deer Park is still in the developing stage and many renovations are in progress.

Community of Mindful Living

The Community of Mindful Living (CML) is guided by the Fourteen Mindfulness Trainings for Engaged Buddhism of the Order of Interbeing--the Tiep Hien Order. Tiep means "being in touch with" and "continuing." Hien means "realizing" and "making it here and now." The Order of Interbeing was formed by Thich Nhat Hanh in the mid-1960s, at a time when the Vietnam War was escalating and the teachings of the Buddha were desperately needed to combat the hatred, violence, and divisiveness enveloping his country. From its inception and in the present, the Order was comprised of all four membership categories of the original Buddhist community--monks, nuns, laymen, and laywomen.

Sangha Directory

These practice centers, monasteries, and lay sanghas comprise the four-fold sangha of the Community of Mindful Living, practicing in the Vietnamese tradition of our teacher, Thich Nhat Hanh.

Mindfulness Bell

The Mindfulness Bell is a journal of the art of mindful living. This magazine is published three times a year by the Community of Mindful Living. Subscriptions to the Mindfulness Bell support the work of Thich Nhat Hanh and the worldwide Sangha.